The Fatherly Figure in Fantasy

An interesting look at fantasy fathers…until I read this, and started thinking about it, I hadn’t realized how absent fathers were in the fantasy world. Those that do appear are not, necessarily, the best examples or parental role models as this list reveals.

Elfwriter

As a warm up for reading this blog, please  say the following five times as quickly as possible: The Fatherly Figure in Fantasy.

I shared some thoughts on Left Coast Voices regarding Father’s Day this Sunday. But it occurred to me that the father figures in epic fantasy gets a tough time. Here is a brief overview of a few of our beloved characters and their fathers (I acknowledge that I am encompassing a wide definition of the genre for this post. Purists – please excuse me this once).

WARNING: There might be spoilers here, so I am giving the name of the character first and won’t be offended if you skip that part.

1. Luke Skywalker:

I know this is sci-fi and not fantasy, but we have all hung there with Luke as his father, who had just chopped off his arm, now looms over him with…

View original post 635 more words

One thought on “The Fatherly Figure in Fantasy

Leave a Reply

